Brain Injury ISIG

Brain Injury




The ACRM Brain Injury Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group (BI-ISIG) promotes high standards of rehabilitation practice, education, and research among interdisciplinary professionals with common interests in brain injury.

The BI-ISIG holds two meetings per year, one a mid-year spring meeting and the other, an annual fall meeting, which is held in conjunction with the ACRM Annual Conference, Progress in Rehabilitation Research.

Share a BI-ISIG BROCHURE with a colleague >>>



Visit the webpages for each of the BI-ISIG task forces to learn about their work and the ways you may benefit by participating.

Moving Ahead

This semi-annual newsletter of the ACRM BI-ISIG, reports the news, updates, progress, and opportunities that spring from the group’s many task forces and dedicated members.

Read it now.


  • Moving Ahead semi-annual newsletter
  • BI-ISIG Task Forces
  • Continuing education
  • Opportunity to plan educational courses for the ACRM annual conference
  • Development of position papers
  • Joint research opportunities

BI-ISIG ONLY Membership Application



Chair Donna Langenbahn, PhD, FACRM
Rusk Institute of Rehabilitation Medicine
New York, NY
Past Chair Lance E. Trexler, PhD, HSPP, FACRM
Rehabilitation Hospital of Indiana
Indianapolis, IN
Chair-Elect Jennifer Bogner, PhD, ABPP-Rp, FACRM
Ohio Valley Center for Brain Injury Rehabilitation and Prevention, Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Columbus, OH
Treasurer Alan Weintraub, MD
Craig Hospital
Englewood, CO
Secretary Karen McCulloch, PT, PhD, MS, NCS
UNC Chapel Hill
Hillsborough, NC
Early Career Chair Monique Pappadis, PhD
TIRR Memorial Hermann
Houston, TX
International Networking Liaison (Ex-Officio) Kristine Kingsley, PsyD, ABPP-Rp
Rusk Institute of Rehabilitation Medicine
New York, NY
Communications Chair Kristine Kingsley, PsyD, ABPP-Rp
Rusk Institute of Rehabilitation Medicine
New York, NY
Program/Awards Chair Dawn Neumann, PhD
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis, IN


image: Risa Nakase-Richardson

Risa Nakase-Richardson, PhD, FACRM

Dr. Joshua B. Cantor Scholar Award Winner

The Cantor Scholar Award is presented by the Brain Injury Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group (BI-ISIG) to a BI-ISIG member in recognition of outstanding research that is judged to be a significant contribution to the field of brain injury rehabilitation. The award is named in memory of Dr. Joshua B. Cantor, who was well known for his research on life after TBI.  The 2014 award winner is Risa Nakase-Richardson, PhD, FACRM.

View full details.


Congratulations to the following winners of the BI-ISIG outstanding poster awards. These posters were presented during the ACRM 91st Annual Conference, 9 and 10 October 2014 in Toronto.

Early Career Award

This award is given to a researcher in the first 10 years of his or her career, who is first author of a poster in the area of brain injury exhibited at the annual conference and judged on its merits across several areas of topic relevance and importance, research methodology, coherence, writing quality, and overall presentation.

The 2014 Early Career Award winner is:

Matthew Doiron
Co-Authors: Anne Citorik, Stephanie Gilmore, Eileen Hunsaker, Anne O’Brien, Marianne Beninato, Joseph Giacino
Disability Rating Scale Criteria as a Screen for Consciousness


David Strauss, PhD Memorial Award

This award was created in 2004 in honor of David Strauss, PhD, a long-term BI-ISIG member, nationally recognized for his humanistic interests, vision, and teaching in post-acute TBI topics. This award is given to the primary author of a poster presentation at the annual conference judged as best reflecting Dr. Strauss’s areas of interest.

The 2014 David Strauss, PhD Memorial Award winner is:

Simon Beaulieu-Bonneau
Co-Authors: Myriam Giguère and Marie-Christine Ouellet
Alcohol and Drug Use Before and in the First Year After Traumatic Brain Injury:
Association with Injury Severity


Girls and Women with ABI Early Career Poster Award Winner

Monique R. Pappadis
Co-Authors: Angelle M. Sander, Patrick Leung, Danielle Parrish, and Maxine W. Epstein
Impact of Gender Role Conflict on Adjustment in Women with Traumatic Brain Injury


Girls and Women with ABI General Poster Award Winner

Donna Ouchterlony
Co-Authors: Patricia Johnson, Monica Pisotta, Alicja Michalak, Cheryl Masanic, Jonathan Gladstone, Chantal Vaidyanath, Shree Bhalerao, Kristin Smith, Jane Topolovec-Vranic
Sex-Based Differences in Headache, Fatigue, and Depression Severity Following Mild or Moderate Traumatic Brain Injury


Member Guide to Product Development

The Member Guide to Product Development describes ACRM products, e.g., fact sheets, journal articles, manuals, and the procedure used by ACRM groups and committees to develop them. Includes a product development worksheet and a form to request a product review.

Supplemental Materials for “Preventing Falls Following Brain Injury” Information/Education Page


ACRM membership includes affiliation with any ACRM community forum. Members may participate in any group, including Brain Injury, Spinal Cord Injury, and Stroke Interdisciplinary Special Interest Groups; Early Career, Healthcare Policy, International, and Outcomes Measurement Networking Groups; as well as groups now forming for Geriatric Rehabilitation, Pain, Neurodegenerative Diseases, and Pediatric Rehabilitation. Nonmembers are welcome and encouraged to participate in any networking or  forming group. Please contact Terri Compos, ACRM Community Relations Manager, for details.